Dean's Platform

Calgary Council Terms

What is happening?

At City Hall in Calgary, Councillors and Mayors have historically been able to sit in public office with no fixed terms.

Should I be elected, I will work with Council to set a limit of 3 consecutive terms (12 years) for councillors and 2 consecutive terms (8 years) for Mayor. In the event a council member (councillor or mayor) puts their name forward to run again in [a Calgary municipal election [after that], they must wait one term (4 years) after serving their terms.

What should be happening?

How are we going to make that happen?

In the best interest of the people of Calgary, council members need to transition through municipal public office in order to generate new and fresh ideas. Times do change and so should leadership.